Low-Dose Lithium

The Mineral as Medicine

April 17-18, 2021

Join us for the first-ever, international online symposium on low-dose lithium!

Psychiatry Redefined is excited to announce that we are hosting an online symposium dedicated to the use of low-dose lithium as a safe, integrative treatment for psychiatric and neurological disorders. Lithium remains underutilized and misunderstood in the field of medicine, but using this mighty mineral may in fact be one of the most promising treatments available.

The 2021 Symposium features several international experts, such as Professor Anjum Memon (lead author of the groundbreaking study on lithium and suicide), Julie Andersen, PhD, De-Maw Chuang, PhD, and Dr. James Greenblatt, Orthomolecular Medicine Hall of Fame Inductee.

Learn from global experts how to effectively integrate lithium into treatment for dementia, suicide prevention, traumatic brain injury (TBI), and more.

Download and share the event brochure!

Register Today!

Scroll to learn more about speakers, presentations and registration discounts!

Comprehensive Training for Busy Professionals

Trusted Researchers & Clinicians

Learn the latest about low-dose lithium from experts in functional medicine and nutritional psychiatry.

Evidence-Based Education

Discover comprehensive, scientific presentations with protocols you can directly implement in your practice.

Convenient & Accessible

Avoid the hassle, risk and expense of travel with presentations and material that can be accessed anywhere.

Register today & save!

$259

Register Now!

Registration increases to $299 on March 1st.

Registration includes:

  • PDFs of presentation slides (pre-symposium)
  • Private event dashboard providing downloadable slides, bonus material, and sponsor promotions
  • Presentation recordings (post-symposium)*

Live and pre-recorded presentations via Zoom. Attendee Q&A with most speakers post-presentation. *Recordings available to registrants soon after symposium. Recordings not available until 90 days post-symposium for non-registrants; purchase fee will apply.

For questions about the symposium, contact Heather Getz at hgetz@psychiatryredefined.org.

Why Low-Dose Lithium?

Present in trace amounts in the foods we eat and the water we drink, lithium is a critical nutrient for many aspects of human physiology. While it has been widely prescribed and researched as a mood stabilizing drug, it continues to be one of the most slandered and misunderstood therapies in medicine. Erroneously, much of the public – as well as some health professionals – continues to think of lithium almost exclusively as a high-dose drug. As a naturally-occurring mineral, lithium can be utilized in micro-doses mimicking those found in our food and water supplies to balance brain chemistry safely and effectively.

Low-dose lithium has shown to be effective in a variety of applications, from treating Alzheimer’s, depression, and traumatic brain injury to preventing suicide. Find more information about low-dose lithium, including many review articles at LowDoseLithium.com.

Symposium Presenters

Julie Andersen, PhD

Click to Read Bio

Dr. Andersen received her PhD from the Department of Biological Chemistry in the David Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California, Los Angeles. She received additional research training in the Department of Neurogenetics at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston. Prior to arriving at the Buck Institute, Dr. Andersen held a faculty position in the School of Gerontology at the University of Southern California. Dr. Andersen has published more than 170 scientific papers and holds three current patents. She has been recognized for her research with a Parkinson’s Pioneer Award from the National Parkinson’s Foundation, a Glenn Award for Research in Biological Mechanisms of Aging, and a senior scholarship from the Ellison Medical Foundation. She was elected a fellow of the Society for Free Radicals in Biology and Medicine in 2013. She currently serves on the scientific advisory board for the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center’s Biology of Aging Program, on the editorial board of e-Neuro (Journal of Neuroscience’s e-journal), as a member of the Brookdale Institute on Aging, and as a council member for the Society of Neurotoxicity. Dr. Andersen has extensive experience working with both biotech companies and medical foundations, including Roche, the Michael J. Fox Foundation, the National Parkinson’s Disease Foundation, and the American Parkinson’s Disease Foundation.

De-Maw Chuang, PhD

Click to Read Bio

De-Maw Chuang, PhD joined the Intramural Research Program (IRP) of NIMH, NIH in 1973 and is the former Chief of the Molecular Neurobiology section. His research there centered on the mechanisms and actions of mood stabilizing drugs for bipolar disorder, notably lithium and valproate. His group was one of the first to demonstrate neuroprotective effects of these drugs and to explore their potential use for the treatment of a variety of neurodegenerative and neuropsychiatric disorders such as Alzheimer’s disease, stroke, traumatic brain injury and Huntington’s disease. Dr. Chuang retired from the IRP and became a Scientist Emeritus in January 2016. His research at the IRP resulted in about 270 publications and over 20,000 citations with an H-index of 81. For his innovative research, Dr. Chuang has received numerous honors and awards including the NIH Director’s Award in 1997, NARSAD (National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression) Distinguished Investigator Award in 2002, Academician of Academia Sinica in Taiwan in 2006, Best Mentor of the Year from the NIMH Director in 2010, Outstanding Mentor Award from the IRP of NIMH in 2011, and Outstanding Alumni Award of National Taiwan University in 2012.

John Endres, ND

Click to Read Bio

Dr. Endres is the chief scientific officer for AIBMR Life Sciences, Inc. in Seattle, Washington since 2006. He earned a degree in naturopathic medicine at Bastyr University in Kenmore, Washington in 2004 and is licensed by Washington State Department of Health as a physician. He is a toxicologist and full member of the Society of Toxicology (SOT). Dr. Endres has been a member of numerous expert panels assembled for the evaluation of GRAS Independent Conclusions. He meets frequently with FDA Office of Food Additive Safety (OFAS) in College Park, MD for FDA GRAS pre-notification meetings. Dr. Endres has been a contributing author on many toxicological safety assessments that are published in academic journals specializing in toxicology. He is frequently the monitoring scientist for toxicology studies designed to study the safety of ingredients to be added to foods and dietary supplements. Dr. Endres is on the Editorial Advisory Boards for Nutritional Outlook, and is on the Executive Advisory Board for Vitafoods Europe. At AIBMR, he manages a team of scientific and regulatory consultants specializing in the natural products and functional foods industries.

Orestis Giotakos, MD, MSc, PhD

Click to Read Bio

Orestis Giotakos graduated from the Military Medical School, University of Thessaloniki, Greece, and he has been working as a Military Psychiatrist since 1992. He obtained his M.Sc. in Neuroscience at the Institute of Psychiatry, London, and his Ph.D. at the Medical School of Athens. He has conducted several investigations and has written a number of articles and books in psychopathology and in prevention strategies. He is the founder of the npo “obrela – Neuroscience & Mental Health,” the editor of the journal, Dialogues in Clinical Neuroscience & Mental Health, and the director of the project, I Care for My Brain.

James Greenblatt, MD

Click to Read Bio

A pioneer in the field of integrative medicine, James M. Greenblatt, MD, has treated patients since 1988. After receiving his medical degree and completing his psychiatry residency at George Washington University, Dr. Greenblatt completed a fellowship in child and adolescent psychiatry at Johns Hopkins Medical School. He currently serves as the Chief Medical Officer at Walden Behavioral Care in Waltham, MA and serves as an Assistant Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at Tufts University School of Medicine and Dartmouth College Geisel School of Medicine. Dr. Greenblatt has lectured internationally on the scientific evidence for nutritional interventions in psychiatry and mental illness. Inducted into the Orthomolecular Medicine Hall of Fame by the International Society of Orthomolecular Medicine in April 2017, he is also the founder of Psychiatry Redefined. Greenblatt has also authored seven books, including Finally Focused: The Breakthrough Natural Treatment Plan for ADHD, and Nutritional Lithium: A Cinderella Story.

Eric Jakobsson, PhD

Click to Read Bio

Eric Jakobsson is a professor in the Departments of Molecular and Integrative Physiology and of Biochemistry and at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He is a senior research scientist at the US National Center for Supercomputing Applications, and a professor in the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His research interests include computational biochemistry in the use of simulations to understand the physical, chemical bases of biomolecular function, bioinformatics in the use of advanced information, and technology to extract meaning from databases containing information on sequence, structure, and function. Dr. Jakobsson received his PhD in physics from Dartmouth College.

Prof. Anjum Memon, MBBS, DPhil [Oxon], FFPH

Click to Read Bio

Professor Anjum Memon is a medically qualified epidemiologist and public health academic, and currently serves as the Chair in Epidemiology and Public Health Medicine at Brighton and Sussex Medical School (BSMS). He trained in epidemiology at the University of Oxford under the supervision of Sir Richard Doll FRS – the eminent epidemiologist who discovered the main hazards of smoking. Anjum joined BSMS in 2005, having previously worked at the Universities of Oxford, Kuwait and Cambridge. He is a Fellow of the Faculty of Public Health and an Honorary Consultant in Public Health Medicine. Along with teaching, research and public health service work, Anjum contributes to capacity building, training and quality assurance activities in public health. Professor Memon is the lead author on the recent, groundbreaking study about the link between lithium in drinking water and lower rates of suicide. To learn more about Dr. Memon’s research, teaching and publications, click here.

 

Want a preview?

Listen to the recent interview, Mapping Nutritional Lithium, with Dr. James Greenblatt!

Register now & save!

$259

Register for Symposium!

Registration increases to $299 on March 1st.

 

Symposium Schedule

Tentative schedule. Speakers, presentations and times subject to change.
Download and share the event brochure.

Day 1: Saturday, April 17

Welcome – James Greenblatt, MD
8:00 am PST/11:00 am EST
An Introduction to Low-Dose, Nutritional Lithium: An Often Misunderstood Mineral – James Greenblatt, MD
8:10 am PST/11:10 am EST
Lithium in Drinking Water is Associated with Lower Suicide Rates – A Review of Epidemiological Evidence – Anjum Memon, MBBS, Dphil (Oxon), FFHP
8:45 am PST/11:45 am EST
Break / Connect with Sponsors (30 min)
10:00 am PST/1:00 pm EST
A New Avenue for Lithium: Intervention in Traumatic Brain Injury – DeMaw Chuang, PhD
10:30 am PST/1:30 pm EST
Low-Dose Lithium as a Treatment for Parkinson's and Other Neurodegenerative Diseases – Julie Andersen, PhD
11:00 am PST/2:00 pm EST
Break / Connect with Sponsors (30 min)
12:15 pm PST/3:15 pm EST
Understanding the Effects of Lithium on Cancer – Eric Jakobsson, PhD
12:45 pm PST/3:45 pm EST
A Toxicological Evaluation of Lithium Orotate – John Endres, ND
1:15 pm PST/4:15 pm EST
Break / Connect with Sponsors (15 min)
1:45 pm PST/4:45 pm EST
Preventing Cognitive Decline and Alzheimer's with Low-Dose Lithium – James Greenblatt, MD
2:00 pm PST/5:00 pm EST
End of Day 1 / Connect with Sponsors
3:15 pm PST/6:15 pm EST

Day 2: Sunday, April 18

Impulsivity and Lithium Deficiency – Orestis Giotakos, MD, MSc, PhD
8:30 am PST/11:30 am EST
Irritability, Anger, and Rage - Syndromes of Lithium Deficiency – James Greenblatt, MD
9:45 am PST/12:45 pm EST
Q&A with Dr. Greenblatt
10:45 am PST/1:45 pm EST
End of Day 2 / Connect with Sponsors
11:30 am PST/2:30 pm EST

Save $40 when you register today!

Registration increases to $299 on March 1st.

 

Registration Fee

$259

Register Today!

Interested in becoming a Psychiatry Redefined event sponsor?

Learn More About Sponsorships