Save the date!

March 4, 2022

Explore the science, efficacy and benefits of ketogenic diets as a therapeutic enhancement for psychiatric disorders.

This event will examine the evidence for the benefits of a ketogenic diet for brain health, including the potential benefits for those with cognitive decline, mood disorders, eating disorders, and beyond. Expert speakers will present both the research and case studies showing the efficacy of a ketogenic diet as it applies to psychiatry. They will review the clinical science behind ketogenic diets for psychiatry, address therapeutic applications and outcomes, dietary concerns, and more. Attendees will come away with both new information and practical, clinical tools to implement with their patients.

View PresentersView ScheduleView Presentation Overviews

Registration is now open!

Only $249

Plus, get expert BONUS presentations when you register!
Register for the Conference

Practical & Comprehensive Training for Busy Professionals

Trusted Researchers & Clinicians

Evidence-Based
Education

Convenient
& Accessible

Who Should Attend this Symposium?

Psychiatrists & Clinicians
Nurses & Nurse Practitioners
Psychologists
Social Workers
Family Medicine Doctors
Naturopathic Doctors 

Register for only $249!

Register Today!

For questions about the symposium, contact Heather Getz at events@psychiatryredefined.org.

Registration includes:

  • Presentation material (PDFs/downloadable slides)
  • Live presentations (via Zoom) with live attendee Q&A scheduled for speakers post-presentation
  • BONUS presentation recordings from our experts (available post-event)
  • Private event dashboard providing all event material and special sponsor offers
  • All presentation recordings (post-symposium)**
  • Bonus presentations as part of the post-event recording package!

**Presentation recordings will be available approx. one month post-event. All recordings are included in registration and will be available to registrants post-event. For non-registrants, recordings will be available for purchase at an increased rate.

Meet the Presenters

Ann Childers, MD

Click to Read Bio

Dr. Childers, an Air Force veteran, is a child and adult trained psychiatric physician with a special interest in regaining the physical and mental health of children, adolescents and adults through standard psychiatric care integrated with principles of nutrition and sleep. Dr. Childers published a number of textbook chapters, among them ‘Nutritional Aspects of Psychiatry’ for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry: The Essentials (Cheng and Myers, 2011). A local and international lecturer, Dr. Childers’ lectures and podcasts can be viewed and heard on the World Wide Web. A member of the American Psychiatric Association, the American Medical Association, the Nutrition and Metabolism Society, Obesity Medicine Association, and Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association, Dr. Childers welcomes those who desire an integrated approach to psychiatric care, sleep and metabolism management.

Ignacio Cuaranta, MD

Click to Read Bio

Dr. Ignacio Cuaranta is a board-certified clinical psychiatrist. He received his medical degree from Universidad Nacional de Rosario, Argentina in 2009. The high rate of obese patients and metabolic disorders caused him to consider whether his practice was complete if it centered only on drugs as a therapy. He began seeing frequent patterns in the clinical manifestations of his patients that couldn’t be explained by the classical arguments in psychiatry for compulsive behavior, impulsive behavior, lack of energy, lethargy, mental fog, mood instability, and poor concentration, to name a few.  In practice, he aims to help his patients improve cognitive function, mood management, and anxiety and stress-related issues, assessing the potential association with food and behavior towards eating (or not eating). He promotes low-carb, healthy-fat (LCHF) and ketogenic lifestyles as well as intermittent fasting protocols, in combination with pharmacotherapy when needed.

Georgia Ede, MD

Click to Read Bio

Georgia Ede M.D. is a Harvard-trained, board-certified psychiatrist specializing in nutrition science, brain metabolism, and mental health. She speaks internationally on dietary approaches to psychiatric disorders, the nutritional differences between plant and animal foods, Alzheimer’s prevention and management strategies, nutrition science, and public nutrition policy reform. Dr. Ede writes about food and the brain for Psychology Today, DietDoctor.com, and her own website DiagnosisDiet.com. To improve access to metabolic psychiatry services around the world, she developed a CME-accredited clinician training program in ketogenic diets for mental health, a live, virtual, small-group course open to practitioners of all backgrounds.

J. Glen House, MD, MBA

Click to Read Bio

In 1990, while a junior in college studying Biomedical Science at Texas A&M University, Dr. J. Glen House broke his neck while snow skiing on winter break, resulting in paralysis that he still has today. He entered medical school 18 months after his accident. He attended medical school at the University of Washington, performed an internship in Internal Medicine in Salt Lake City, completed a residency in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Baylor College of Medicine where he served as chief-resident, and was chosen to complete a fellowship in spinal cord medicine at the Kessler Institute for Rehabilitation. From 2003 to 2021, he was the Medical Director of Penrose Hospital’s Center for Neuro & Trauma Rehabilitation. Dr. House is the Medical Director of the Spinal Cord Program at Providence St. Luke’s Rehabilitation Medical Center in Spokane, Washington. He also holds the position of Clinical Associate Professor at Washington State University College of Medicine.

Nina Teicholz

Click to Read Bio

Nina Teicholz, a science journalist, is author of the New York Times bestseller, The Big Fat Surprise, which upended the conventional wisdom on dietary fat–especially saturated fat—and spurred a new conversation about whether these fats in fact cause heart disease. Named a *Best Book* of the year by the Economist, Wall Street Journal and Mother Jones, among others, it continues to be called a must-read for anyone seeking to understand the amazing story of how we came to believe fat is bad for health—and what a better diet might look like. Nina is also the founder of the Nutrition Coalition, a non-profit working to ensure that government nutrition policy is transparent and evidence-based—work for which she’s been asked to testify before the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the Canadian Senate. Teicholz is a graduate of Stanford and Oxford Universities and previously served as associate director of the Center for Globalization and Sustainable Development at Columbia University.

Beth Zupec-Kania, RDN, CD

Click to Read Bio

Beth began her career as a hospital dietitian where she established a ketogenic diet therapy clinic for pediatric epilepsy and has been a private consultant since 2006. She consults globally for patients on low-carb and ketogenic diets. She’s authored numerous consumer and professional keto education guides, has co-organized four global ketogenic symposia, trained thousands of medical professionals and has been published in multiple peer-reviewed scientific journals. Beth is the architect of KetoDietCalculator, online software for calculating and managing ketogenic therapies, a consultant to The Charlie Foundation, a board member of the Glut-1 Deficiency Syndrome Foundation, a Trustee of the International Ketogenic Society, a member of the American Nutrition Association and the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

Bonus Presenters

Robert Cywes, MD

Click to Read Bio

Dr. Cywes is Dual Board Certified in General Surgery and in Pediatric Surgery. He specializes in Pediatric and Adult obesity, diabetes, insulin resistance, and metabolic management including PCOS, Lipedema, and other endocrine disorders. Dr Cywes received his medical degree from The University of Cape Town, South Africa in 1987. He also earned a PhD in liver metabolism and immunology, working with Dr David Jenkins, the father of the Glycemic Index. He became increasingly interested in adolescent obesity and the impact of carbohydrates on the liver and endocrine/metabolic syndrome in young patients. His research led to a comprehensive understanding of the toxicity of chronic excessive carbohydrate consumption as the primary cause of obesity and so-called obesity-related co-morbidities, particularly diabetes and vascular inflammatory disorders. In the late 1990s, Dr. Cywes realized that the prevailing treatment of obesity using a Calories in, Calories out (CICO) model was erroneous, and he developed the Carbohydrate Insulin Model of Obesity and Diabetes (CIMOD). His focus is helping people understand and treat the true cause of their endocrine/metabolic disease including obesity and diabetes. He is increasingly working with high performance athletes as well.

James Greenblatt, MD

Click to Read Bio

A pioneer in the field of integrative medicine, James M. Greenblatt, MD, has treated patients since 1988. After receiving his medical degree and completing his psychiatry residency at George Washington University, Dr. Greenblatt completed a fellowship in child and adolescent psychiatry at Johns Hopkins Medical School. He currently serves as the Chief Medical Officer at Walden Behavioral Care in Waltham, MA and serves as an Assistant Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at Tufts University School of Medicine and Dartmouth College Geisel School of Medicine. Dr. Greenblatt has lectured internationally on the scientific evidence for nutritional interventions in psychiatry and mental illness. He is also the founder of Psychiatry Redefined, and author of seven books, including Finally Focused: The Breakthrough Natural Treatment Plan for ADHD, and Nutritional Lithium: A Cinderella Story.

Stefan Ivantu, MD, MRCPsych

Click to Read Bio

Dr. Stefan Ivantu is a licensed psychiatrist who is passionate about combining visionary leadership, technology, and innovation to develop new mental health services tailored to patients’ needs. He has a special interest in Nutritional Psychiatry and the potential use of ketogenic diets to treat mental health conditions. He is an ambassador for involving both patients and experienced experts in the design of medical services to improve standards of care at an individual and systemic level. In 2021, Dr. Ivantu successfully established a new Adult ADHD service as the Programme Lead for Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust, as part of the Royal College of Psychiatrists Leadership and Management Fellowship programme. He is now on the steering committee of the Royal College of Psychiatrists Leadership and Management Scheme. He is also leading the development of the KetoMind programme at the London Psychiatry Clinic.

Register for the Conference Now

Symposium Schedule

View presentation overviews.

Schedule tentative (speakers, presentations, and times subject to change)

Friday, March 4, 2022

Welcome & Introduction – James Greenblatt, MD
8:00 am PST / 11:00 am EST
The Politics & Science of Nutrition: Why We're All So Confused – Nina Teicholz
8:15 am PST / 11:15 am EST
Stone Age Body, Space Age Diet: Nutrition, Metabolism & Mental Health –
Ann Childers, MD
9:15 am PST / 12:15 pm EST
Break / Connect with sponsors (30 min)
10:15 am PST / 1:15 pm EST
The Ketogenic Diet for Alzheimer's and Cognitive Decline – Georgia Ede, MD
10:45 am PST / 1:45 pm EST
Ketogenic Metabolic Therapy: Practical Considerations – Beth Zupec-Kania, RDN, CD
11:45 am PST / 2:45 pm EST
Break / Connect with sponsors (30 min)
12:45 pm PST / 3:45 pm EST
Ketogenic Psychiatry: Advances on Stress Adaptation – Ignacio Cuaranta, MD
1:15 pm PST / 4:15 pm EST
The Ketogenic Diet and Neuroregeneration – Glen House, MD, MBA
2:15 pm PST / 5:15 pm EST
End of Day / Connect with sponsors
3:15 pm PST / 6:15 pm EST

Bonus Presentations

Bonus presentations are included in registration, and will be available in the post-event package with all conference materials.

Understanding Concepts, Principles, and Therapeutics of Carbohydrate Addiction – Robert Cywes, MD
Schizophrenia Redefined: Exploring the Role of Gluten Intolerance, Celiac Disease, and Ketogenic Diets – James Greenblatt, MD
The KetoMind Programme - Treating Mental Health Conditions with Ketogenic Diets – Stefan Ivantu, MD, MRCPsych

Discover dietary solutions to transform mental health care and improve patient outcomes.

Register Now!