Genetic Testing in Psychiatry

The Hype & The Hope

An online symposium

July 17, 2021

Hosted by

Co-sponsored by

A practical approach to clinical pharmacogenetics and genetic testing in psychiatry

The goal of this symposium is to help clinicians understand both the utility and limitations of genetic testing in psychiatric practice. Our expert speakers, both researchers and clinicians, will share some of the scientific evidence for the role of pharmacogenomics in psychiatry.  They will review some of the most common genes associated with various psychiatric disorders.  They will also present practical pearls so you may learn how to use genetic testing to improve patient outcomes.

This program has been submitted for CE accreditation through Commonwealth Educational Seminars FOR NURSES ONLY. Additional information on accreditation will be available soon.

Register now for only $59!

Register Now!

Registration increases to $79 on June 1, 2021.

Comprehensive Training for Busy Professionals

Trusted Researchers & Clinicians

Learn the latest about genetic testing, pharmacogenomics, and genetic links to various psychiatric disorders from esteemed experts.

Evidence-Based Education

Discover comprehensive, scientific presentations with protocols you can directly implement in your practice to improve patient outcomes.

Convenient &
Accessible

Avoid the hassle, risk and expense of travel with presentations and material that can be easily accessed online and from anywhere.

Who Should Attend this Symposium?

This symposium is ideal for the following professions:

  • Psychiatrists
  • Psychiatric & Mental Health Nurse Practitioners and Nurses
  • Functional Medicine Physicians
  • Integrative Medicine Physicians

Register now & save!

Price increases on June 1st!

REGISTER

For questions about the symposium, contact Heather Getz at hgetz@psychiatryredefined.org.

Registration includes:

  • PDFs of presentation slides (pre-symposium)
  • Private event dashboard providing downloadable slides, bonus material, and sponsor promotions
  • Presentation recordings (post-symposium)*

Live and pre-recorded presentations via Zoom. Attendee Q&A scheduled for most speakers post-presentation. *Recordings included and available to registrants post-event; for non-registrants, recordings will be available for purchase at an increased rate. Recordings available approx. one month post-event.

What You’ll Learn

Learn from renowned experts in the field of genetic testing about important topics, including:

  • The basics of psychiatric pharmacogenomics – pharmacokinetic, pharmacodynamic, and immunogenic genes
  • How to interpret genotype and phenotype information in the context of medication
  • The evidence base for clinically actionable gene-drug interactions
  • The role of specific genes like MAO-A and COMT in disorders like ADHD, Anxiety, and Bipolar Disorder
  • Using pharmacogenomics to address brain-gut axis dysfunction and psychiatric comorbidities
  • The role of MTHFR and the dangers of both insufficient and excess folate in mental health disorders
  • Practical, clinical application of pharmacogenomics with a review of multiple case studies

Meet the Presenters

Muneer Ali, MD

Click to Read Bio

Dr. Ali is a clinical psychiatrist who likes to take a whole person, therapeutic approach and understand his patients in the context of their life experiences, and then work with them to figure out where they want to go and how to get there. Dr. Ali takes a particular interest in ADHD, anxiety disorders, and substance use disorders. He completed his training in Psychiatry at the State University of New York, completed a Fellowship in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, and served as Chief Fellow in his final year. Dr. Ali is double Board-certified in Adult and Child/Adolescent Psychiatry through the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology.  He works with Amen Clinics in the Atlanta metro area.

Lisa Brown, PhD

Click to Read Bio

Lisa Brown earned her PhD in Biomedical Sciences at Albert Einstein in 2015, studying microbiology and infectious disease with Arturo Casadevall, MD, PhD. She then went on to a career in medical affairs by joining Assurex Health/Myriad Neuroscience as a Medical Science Liaison. At Myriad, Lisa managed an international team of MSLs until 2020 when she moved on to Tempus Labs as their first NeuroPsych MSL. Lisa has published multiple book chapters and over a dozen peer-reviewed publications. Lisa is passionate about using science and technology to improve mental healthcare and also has a special interest in psychopharmacomicrobiomics.

Boadie Dunlop, MD, MSCR

Click to Read Bio

Boadie Dunlop, MD, MSCR, has served as the Director of the Mood and Anxiety Disorders Program (MAP) at Emory University since 2006. He graduated from Mayo Medical School in 1997 and completed his Residency in Psychiatry at Emory in 2001. His clinical research is focused on the neurobiology, psychopharmacology and treatment of major depression, bipolar disorder, and anxiety disorders. Through the MAP research program he conducts both industry-sponsored trials of investigational medications and biologically-oriented studies sponsored by federal and other non-profit organizations. These projects frequently involve collaboration with pre-clinical and clinical researchers in neurology, radiology, genetics and psychology. Dr. Dunlop’s additional areas of interest include decision-making in psychiatric disorders and the ethics of clinical research.

Dr. Dunlop is a practicing psychiatrist in the Emory Clinic and performs consultations for treatment-refractory patients with mood and anxiety disorders. He is also active in the education of Emory’s Psychiatry residents, serving as the course director for the Mood and Anxiety Disorders lecture series and providing supervision in psychopharmacology and psychodynamic psychotherapy for Emory Psychiatry residents.

James Greenblatt, MD

Click to Read Bio

A pioneer in the field of integrative medicine, James M. Greenblatt, MD, has treated patients since 1988. After receiving his medical degree and completing his psychiatry residency at George Washington University, Dr. Greenblatt completed a fellowship in child and adolescent psychiatry at Johns Hopkins Medical School. He currently serves as the Chief Medical Officer at Walden Behavioral Care in Waltham, MA and serves as an Assistant Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at Tufts University School of Medicine and Dartmouth College Geisel School of Medicine. Dr. Greenblatt has lectured internationally on the scientific evidence for nutritional interventions in psychiatry and mental illness. Inducted into the Orthomolecular Medicine Hall of Fame by the International Society of Orthomolecular Medicine in April 2017, he is also the founder of Psychiatry Redefined. Greenblatt has also authored seven books, including Finally Focused: The Breakthrough Natural Treatment Plan for ADHD, and Nutritional Lithium: A Cinderella Story.

Kelly Heim, PhD

Click to Read Bio

Kelly Heim, Ph.D. is a pharmacologist specializing in natural products. He is Senior Scientific Director, Pharmacology & Genomics for Pure Encapsulations and Douglas Laboratories, where he advises professional medical education and genomics platform development. Dr. Heim is a graduate of Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth College and has published several invited reviews and book chapters on polyphenol chemistry, mechanisms and applications. He offers complimentary learning resources on the basic and clinical pharmacology of natural products via his website, IntegrativePharmacology.com.

Symposium Schedule

Tentative Schedule – Speakers, presentations, and times are subject to change.

Saturday, July 17

Welcome (15 min) – James Greenblatt, MD
8:00 am PST/11:00 am EST
Pharmacogenomics in Psychiatry: From CYPs to Interpretation in Clinical Practice – Lisa Brown, PhD
8:15 am PST/11:15 am EST
Warriors Versus Worriers: The Role of COMT Gene Variants in ADHD, Anxiety, and Bipolar Disorder – Muneer Ali, MD
9:00 am PST/12:00 pm EST
Break / Connect with Sponsors (30 min)
10:00 am PST/1:00 pm EST
Brain-Gut Axis Dysfunction and Psychiatric Comorbidities: A Pharmacogenomics Perspective – Kelly Heim, PhD
10:30 am PST/1:30 pm EST
Methylation Genetics: Understanding the Role of Folate, B12, and SAMe – James Greenblatt, MD
11:30 am PST/2:30 pm EST
Break / Connect with Sponsors (30 min)
12:30 pm PST/3:30 pm EST
Red Lights and Red Herrings: Cases in Applied Pharmacogenomics – Boadie Dunlop, MD, MS
1:00 pm PST/4:00 pm EST
Final Q&A – Lisa Brown, PhD
2:00 pm PST/5:00 pm EST
End of Day / Connect with Sponsors
2:30 pm PST/5:30 pm EST

Register today for this unique online event!

Register Now

Interested in becoming a Psychiatry Redefined event sponsor?

Learn More About Sponsorships